Edge owners: Tuning thread - Page 5 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine

Edge owners: Tuning thread

 
  #61  
Old 04-21-2006, 03:05 PM
BMLocal175
BMLocal175 is offline
Senior User
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 121
BMLocal175 is starting off with a positive reputation.
If I was to buy the edge within the next few weeks would it already have the new upgrades or would I still have to dl them?
 
  #62  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:29 PM
WhlM1's Avatar
WhlM1
WhlM1 is offline
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 8,463
WhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant future
I wouldnt count on them having it. Your unit would probably have been made months previous, and sitting on an inventory shelf since. The upgrade is fast though. It should only take a few minutes (on dialup).
 
  #63  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:37 PM
superrangerman2002's Avatar
superrangerman2002
superrangerman2002 is offline
Postmaster
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 4,758
superrangerman2002 has a great reputation on FTE.superrangerman2002 has a great reputation on FTE.superrangerman2002 has a great reputation on FTE.superrangerman2002 has a great reputation on FTE.
I would argue that it may have the upgrades already.

The unit I had bought from DPPT, was assembled 2 weeks prior to my receiving it, and that includes 3 days of shipping just to my house.

I had to actually cancel an order from a different supplier because the backorder was 3 plus weeks.

Still a good idea to hook it up to your pc before first time use though.
 
  #64  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:27 AM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
filled up with octane 93; stage 3 tuned; check engine

After filling my truck up with 93, I set my Edge to Stage 3 tune. After 10 seconds, the truck felt weird, and threw a check engine light!!! 2 codes were found. 1 of them was unreadable. 2nd one was something that had to do with the air something or another ( cant remember). But I quickly switched it back to stage 2 and everything was back to normal. I'm guessing I need to do an update and it should be fine? How do I do it?
 
  #65  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:30 AM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by DASTUD
Another Question....what Stage Are You Running? I Want To Know What The Best Custom Set Up Is With The Level 3 Program.


Hopefully This Update Fixes My Level 3, Everytime I Load It, My Truck Goes Into Failsafe Mode And Will Not Allow Me To Go Beyond Idle.
I got the same issue...i have a 4.6
 
  #66  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:00 AM
WhlM1's Avatar
WhlM1
WhlM1 is offline
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 8,463
WhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant future
The update technique is outlined in the manual. Its a very straight forward task.
 
  #67  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:19 PM
Biggziff's Avatar
Biggziff
Biggziff is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,402
Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Just hooked mine up in my 04 STX 4X4 4.6. I've had a Diablo and a Superchips and this thing is a lot better. Loads the program in 1/10 the time of the others, the display is a welcom addition, power and response on setting 2 is much better than stock. I was going to buy a trans temp gauge when I saw these...cost me a little more than a gauge and gauge pods, but does so much more. So far I'm very pleased.
 
  #68  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:50 PM
kris55
kris55 is offline
New User
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
kris55 is starting off with a positive reputation.
How do you know what to set the custom settings at? I use my 04 f150 screw for towing a small 26' 5th wheel toyhauler and this is why i bought the edge, to get a little xtra. but if you can get more from the custom setting, what would be the settings? I use the level 2 when towing and level 1 for normal driving, i run 87-89 octane, and do not want to raise the rev or speed limiter. Also i noticed a discrepency between the Edge MPH read out and the truck MPH gage, about 2 MPH difference, should i reprogram the egde by actually measuring the tire size or what, i did update it last week. Thanks for any help in advance.
 
  #69  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:25 PM
Brian429
Brian429 is offline
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gettysburg, Pa
Posts: 487
Brian429 is starting off with a positive reputation.
I'm pretty new to the whole tuners/chips world. With the Edge is it possible to see improvements with leaving the shift firmess alone, I also don't want to fork out the extra money for higher octane gas.? I've never liked the firmer shift feel, but that just my own personla opinion, I know a lot of guys like it. Also, what kind of wiring is required with this unit, where is the wire from the unit running to?
 
  #70  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:42 PM
Biggziff's Avatar
Biggziff
Biggziff is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,402
Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
You can play with the custom settings to your liking...everyone has a different idea of what is right for them.

As far as wiring, it just plugs into the diagnostic connector under your dash. Takes all of 5 minutes to install it. They have detailed instructions on the website.
 
  #71  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:30 PM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Level 3 Is What I Am Running, No Customization. Anyone Have What They Think Is The Perfect Custom Tune With Level 1, Level 2, & Level 3???? Just Interested. Also, Does Anyone Know What Level 3 Changes?
 
  #72  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:38 PM
the4by4freek
the4by4freek is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,264
the4by4freek is starting off with a positive reputation.
OK all, I just ordered mine. I have a few questions.... In NC we have OBDII testing for inspections. How hard is the Edge to disconnect and return to stock mode. I will need to disconnect it to get an inspection. OH, bye the way... I ordered from Discount power parts also.... Great Prices!
 
  #73  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:42 PM
WhlM1's Avatar
WhlM1
WhlM1 is offline
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 8,463
WhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant future
Very easy. Three minutes or so to reset to stock, and remove it.
 
  #74  
Old 04-30-2006, 09:09 PM
Biggziff's Avatar
Biggziff
Biggziff is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,402
Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.Biggziff is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Originally Posted by DASTUD
Level 3 Is What I Am Running, No Customization. Anyone Have What They Think Is The Perfect Custom Tune With Level 1, Level 2, & Level 3???? Just Interested. Also, Does Anyone Know What Level 3 Changes?
Thought I read it somewhere...seems like more torque @ shift, WOT fuel curve lower in the RPM range, timing advance and more aggressive curve hence the premium fuel.
 
  #75  
Old 05-01-2006, 04:31 PM
TWellmann
TWellmann is offline
Senior User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 209
TWellmann is starting off with a positive reputation.
I'm running level 3. The only changes I made were to verify that my tire size was correct (I've had problems here where it's setting the size much smaller by default) and I set my timing to -0.5 because I'm running 89 octane instead of 91 and haven't experienced any detonation issues with that timing setting.

This past week I drove to MN and back and ran 87 octane because I was just burning gas on the long drive so I figured I'd save a few bucks. I backed the timing down to -2.0 to account for the 87 octane. It seemed to me that the truck didn't perform as well while running the 87. It also seemed to growl louder (from the Volant air intake) and the engine load tended to be higher (according to the display).

My personal opinion/conclusion is that the higher octane fuel seems to give the engine more lugging power so it doesn't need to work as hard at the higher speeds.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Edge owners: Tuning thread


Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.