Edge owners: Tuning thread - Page 2 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine

Edge owners: Tuning thread

 
  #16  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:01 PM
WhlM1's Avatar
WhlM1
WhlM1 is offline
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 8,463
WhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant future
Originally Posted by derek4343
how do you get the screen to show you ampg?
When was the last time you did an online update? I did one....last Thursday maybe?, and it switched the default screen to RPM, MPH, AMPG, and IMPG.
 
  #17  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:08 AM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by derek4343
how do you get the screen to show you ampg?
I found out. you pick display pick the 4 screen highlight one of the screen options, such as mph and hit enter. you can then scroll thru and change it to what you want.
 
  #18  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:34 PM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by WheelMA1
2006 FX4 Screw 5.4 4x4
89 octane
I am using the 2/Tow tune. I set the timing +1, and shift firmness +5 at all intervals.

Been running this two days now. Shifting is great now, might even bump it up some more. Very fast low end response with the timing too. One of my biggest complaints about these Edge units versus my Superchips experience...is the low end response. Although its only been two days, I am seeing ~.5mpg increase.

I have it on setting two as well with 89 octane. The only thing I messed with was the tire size. There is a small disclaimer when running the Custom options and Im afraid to change it..I want to increase the rev limiter and the speed limiter as well. Also change up the shifting firmness too. Will these changes harm the vehicle? I would hate to put stress on any of the components. Because of the Edge, I already started to hit the gas/brakes harder!!

BTW, my truck is a 4.6
 

Last edited by is300wrx; 03-26-2006 at 02:36 PM.
  #19  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:37 PM
WhlM1's Avatar
WhlM1
WhlM1 is offline
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 8,463
WhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant futureWhlM1 has a brilliant future
That warning is there because Edge wont, and shouldnt, have to cover repairs if a guy runs 85 octane, and bumps his timing like +10 degress...and grenades his motor. Provided you know what you are doing, customizing the tunes are where you can really wake the vehicle up.
 
  #20  
Old 03-26-2006, 10:16 PM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
Ok, sounds good to me. I just didnt want to harm the engine/tranny by bumping the settings. I just gased her up with 93 octane and I set it for stage 3. I think I am going to fiddle with the shifting and the rev limiter as well.
 
  #21  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:48 AM
shotout
shotout is offline
New User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
shotout is starting off with a positive reputation.
I have a 05 fx4 with the 5.4l. I have the edge programmer and magnaflow catback SI/SO. I love the way it woke my truck up. I was wondering if anyone had the AF1 with this combo and could you feel the difference. Just looking for my next mod.
 
  #22  
Old 03-28-2006, 08:51 AM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by shotout
I have a 05 fx4 with the 5.4l. I have the edge programmer and magnaflow catback SI/SO. I love the way it woke my truck up. I was wondering if anyone had the AF1 with this combo and could you feel the difference. Just looking for my next mod.
I DO NOT HAVE THE AF1, but i do have the k&n 63 series fipk. I can definitly tell the difference at higher rpms. It just seems to breath better. The magnaflow SI/S0 definitly help as well. I just ran a 0-60 again this morning and i did it in 7.02 sec. Not bad for a big heavy truck!
 
  #23  
Old 03-28-2006, 10:01 AM
shotout
shotout is offline
New User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
shotout is starting off with a positive reputation.
Cool, some people were saying that the truck would run to lean with the intake on it, have you experinced this
 
  #24  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:38 AM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
I went to go mess with the settings on the Edge yesterday while it was on setting three. Under shift firmness and other setup, I see three brackets for each category. So does this mean the points in between shifts? I saw three so I am guess that each of them refer to shift points from 1-2, 2-3, and 3-4??? My rev limiter is set at 5100 and I dont htink I want to touch that since it already seems pretty high. I just want to change up the shift timing and the firmness
 
  #25  
Old 03-28-2006, 12:17 PM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by shotout
Cool, some people were saying that the truck would run to lean with the intake on it, have you experinced this
HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED IT RUNNING LEAN
 
  #26  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:08 PM
shotout
shotout is offline
New User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
shotout is starting off with a positive reputation.
OK thanks, were did you get your intake from and how much did you pay for it. If you dont mind me asking
 
  #27  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:04 PM
is300wrx's Avatar
is300wrx
is300wrx is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oxford, CT
Posts: 1,439
is300wrx is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by is300wrx
I went to go mess with the settings on the Edge yesterday while it was on setting three. Under shift firmness and other setup, I see three brackets for each category. So does this mean the points in between shifts? I saw three so I am guess that each of them refer to shift points from 1-2, 2-3, and 3-4??? My rev limiter is set at 5100 and I dont htink I want to touch that since it already seems pretty high. I just want to change up the shift timing and the firmness
Can anyone answer that please??
 
  #28  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:03 PM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by is300wrx
I went to go mess with the settings on the Edge yesterday while it was on setting three. Under shift firmness and other setup, I see three brackets for each category. So does this mean the points in between shifts? I saw three so I am guess that each of them refer to shift points from 1-2, 2-3, and 3-4??? My rev limiter is set at 5100 and I dont htink I want to touch that since it already seems pretty high. I just want to change up the shift timing and the firmness
you are correct, shift point for gear 1 to 2, shift point for gear 2 to 3, and shift point from gear 3 to 4.
 
  #29  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:07 PM
DASTUD's Avatar
DASTUD
DASTUD is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 502
DASTUD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by shotout
OK thanks, were did you get your intake from and how much did you pay for it. If you dont mind me asking
I actually ordered it from a local truck accessory shop. $300.00 installed. Pretty good deal, but I have given them a lot of business. I had them put on a 4 inch skyjacker lift on my 04 jeep rubicon. You need to get one, it does make a difference. Some say the truck already has a cold air intake, which i am not arguing, but the K&N is a definite improvement!!!
 
  #30  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:28 PM
shotout
shotout is offline
New User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
shotout is starting off with a positive reputation.
i sure thank you for all the info, im going to look into getting one ,Ill let you know.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Edge owners: Tuning thread


Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.