Georgia Chapter Join Chapter, Leader: ChiefM SPONSORED BY:

March Chat Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2016, 06:48 PM
ChiefM
FTE Chapter Leader
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
March Chat Thread

Another new month is upon us and super tuesday is dominating the news tonight. I hope everyone exercised their right to vote!! The thunderstorms are moving thru and it has really came down a few times. Hopefully this will be the last cold blast and warmer weather will finally be here to stay.

Axel,
Excited to see that you are so into working on your truck, being a mechanic and not a parts replacer is slowly becoming a lost art. I remember when OBD1 came out and now we are about to have OBD3. A new mechanic now would be lost without a code reader and probably could not set the points on an old ignition system. Don't beat yourself up, it takes time and after 30 + years I'm still no expert.

Old 03-01-2016, 08:24 PM
yankbs 66f100
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It's amazing how little knowledge people have about the older things. Walked in to an Advanced Auto store to get a set of points and a condenser for my boat. When it came my turn at the counter, the young kid asked what I needed. Showed him the two pieces, and the look on his face was amazing. He said what is that, told him what it was, and then he said, what does it do. I went straight to NAPA.

That kid not only knew what it was, he walked to the back and came out with the parts. Glad to say, I won't be back to Advanced anytime soon.

Old 03-02-2016, 06:28 AM
hturner12
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by ChiefM
Another new month is upon us and super tuesday is dominating the news tonight. I hope everyone exercised their right to vote!! The thunderstorms are moving thru and it has really came down a few times. Hopefully this will be the last cold blast and warmer weather will finally be here to stay.

Axel,