6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

'03 F350 High Pressure Fuel Pump Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2015, 12:49 PM
outinthecold
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'03 F350 High Pressure Fuel Pump Replacement

Hello, this is my first time posting on here, I have 3 questions and please excuse my ignorance. I am not a mechanic and have limited knowledge of diesel engine maintenance.
1.) Is it really necessary to pull the cab off my '03 F350 to replace the High Pressure Fuel Pump? My local Ford dealership want $3150 for the job.
2.) Is $3150 about right for this kind of job or is that high?
The truck is 12 years old, has 140,000 miles and the rear wheel wells and body under the rear doors are showing rust pretty badly thanks to the salt used in our CT winters. I've made other repairs in the past year to the tune of $2500 for an oil leak, fuel leak and misc other "minor" ailments.
3.)Is this vehicle even worth spending that kind of money on at this point?

Old 03-29-2015, 12:56 PM
WatsonR
Post Fiend
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
you mean high pressure oil pump, the fuel pump is mounted on the frame under the cab.
Lots of places that fix trucks claim they know a bunch about stuff like this and when the bill comes, truck isn't right and you're out $1000s. How do you know it's bad?

Old 03-29-2015, 01:07 PM
dannyboy950
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
For one thing spend a litle time looking thru the tech folder. Lots of good info and tests you can use and how to run them,the values you should see and values you shouldn't see.
Invest in something that can read live data and pull codes. You will need this to help diagnose and work on your truck. There are a lot of optios available. Full scan tools; monitors;smart phone apps designed for diagnoseing your truck.

Old 03-29-2015, 01:08 PM
outinthecold
New User
Originally Posted by WatsonR