AOD transmission won't properly downshift

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2018, 11:53 AM
AbandonedBronco
Received 80 Likes on 73 Posts
AOD transmission won't properly downshift

Hi all,

1985 Bronco 302 EFI /AOD

I'm new to the world of automatic transmissions. I have plans to swap a manual into my new Bronco, but that might not be for a little while so in the mean time, I'm driving it as is.

One issue I keep having is that it's a chore to get it the transmission to downshift when I need the power. Even if I have it floored, it'll upshift as soon as possible.
I don't think I've gotten it the engine to go over 2500 RPMs without manually moving the shift selector to prevent it (1 in down, D on the interstate).

It feels like the shifting is almost entirely RPM based and isn't taking the throttle position into account (unless it's extreme).
IF I can get it to downshift, it'll only be momentarily and it'll quickly upshift again the moment I'm not at 100% WOT. Getting the transmission to downshift requires mashing the pedal into the carpet.

Because of this, it falls out of cruise a lot on hills, and I overall have issues just getting any power out of it (like climbing, accelerating). This makes it a real bear on hills and stuff because it'll just lose speed instead of downshifting into its power band.

It was shifting hard when I first got it, so I've adjusted the ATV cable according to the instructions / specs I've read. Also, one of the first things I did was take all of the slop out of the throttle cable.
Overall, the transmission shifts very nicely, is smooth, and makes for a nice daily driver around town. But, highway driving is a pain and so is getting it to move when I need it to.

Lastly, the throttle cable has had all the slack taken out of it and is nice and responsive.

Any ideas what to do about this? Thanks.

Old 05-10-2018, 12:25 PM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 967 Likes on 765 Posts