Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Best tool you ever found?

Old 04-23-2005, 04:07 PM
b2_tim
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best tool you ever found?

Being a home mechanic, I can spot a lost tool on the road like a hunter can spot a squirel in a tree.

Today I found a 1/4" MAC ratchet with a 5/16 Craftsman socket attached. It had been out all night in over 1" of rain and cleaned up nice. I also once found a 7ch hand held scanner on the side of the road while I was riding my cycle, and it still worked fine.

I'm keeping my eyes open for a plasma cutter, but I know the road rash is going to be bad on it.

For those who have lost tools, and I'm one too, I can promise that I will take good care of your tools and not abuse them.

Lets here your stories!

Old 04-23-2005, 05:12 PM
7fords
Senior User
love the humor my fiance gives me crap all the time for pulling u turns on the road because i spotted something cant keep going have to go back you just never know what you will find

Old 04-23-2005, 09:40 PM
T18skyguy
Elder User
My nominee for the best tool is the Vise Grip. Thats why auto mechanics call them "The wrong tool for every job"

Old 04-23-2005, 11:55 PM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
I found a nice pair of needlenose pliers inside a tire once-

Old 04-24-2005, 01:23 AM
oldhalftons
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I found a craftsman 1/2" wrench under the radiator of my bronco. I could see it for a long time and thought it was just a cheapie wrench so I never pulled the radiator to get it. when I did finaly pull it I saw it was a craftsman.

I also found a complete Thorsen 1/2" drive socket set under the cargo floor in a station wagon in the local Pull-&-Save junkyard

Old 04-24-2005, 07:04 AM
JimmyRC86F150
Freshman User
Found Tools Rock!