Setting up your mirrors to tow

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2022, 10:17 PM
island eddie
Mountain Pass
Received 91 Likes on 54 Posts
Setting up your mirrors to tow

I have a 26-foot travel trailer and 2011 F-250 FX$ 6.2 SC reg bed.
I set my stock mirrors up extended out, where I can see the road and tires of my trailer on the inside edge of the big mirror.
I am wondering if I am too low.
Am I missing too much behind me?
I read where you should be able to see 200 feet back, that seems like a lot.
Just curious, I am a slow driver, never change lanes quickly, I always leave stopping room in front, even if I have to keep dropping back as jerks pull in front of me.
How do you guys set up your mirrors?

Old 01-30-2022, 12:20 AM
CathedralCub
Lead Driver
Received 758 Likes on 692 Posts
I set mine so that in a theoretically-flat road, I see the horizon at about a third of the way down from the top, and so that if I glance at either mirror I only have a sliver of trailer in view. Lean back to see more trailer, lean forward to see more of the lane next door.

Most regions require that you can see 200 feet directly behind the vehicle combination.

Old 01-30-2022, 07:26 AM
SpencerPJ
Laughing Gas
Received 194 Likes on 160 Posts
I set mine so I see well behind me. Why do you need to see your tires 99% of the time. Lean forward and sit up should you feel the need.

Old 01-30-2022, 09:30 AM
HRTKD
Boondocker
Received 6,779 Likes on 2,765 Posts
I have just a sliver of the trailer in the mirror. My trailer is so wide that even at full extension on the mirrors I can't see the tires unless I'm turning.

I wish the mirrors changed the angle in just a bit as the mirrors extend out.

Old 01-30-2022, 11:01 AM
island eddie
Mountain Pass
Thanks guys....I think I want to watch the wheels just in case they fall off

I had a episode last year while towing a guy flagged me down, said I had some serious issues with my rear tires. I was going through a very winding road.
I have spread axles.