1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Crankshaft/Trans question for 460 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2021, 10:33 PM
dnkensinger
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crankshaft/Trans question for 460 Swap

I know this topic has been discussed a million times and I've searched the forum high and low before I ask this but can't find much of anything on this specific concern. I intend to install a 460 in place of the 302 on my 84 F250 and the donor motor is from a 69 Lincoln Mark III. I read somewhere that the 460's from this era was never placed in front of a manual transmission so the crankshaft is likely not machined to accept a pilot bearing but by the looks of this crank, it is. Forgive my ignorance; I've been working on cars for almost 20 years but have only done 1 clutch job and never paid much attention to how the rear of the crank looks. But to me, it looks right. However, I want to be sure of that before the machine shop reassembles the rotating assembly in case it does have to be machined for one. That brings me to my next question(s): If this factory crank is in fact set up for a pilot bearing, for which application do I source one? Is it safe to assume that they're all the same from late 60's to late 80's?

Lastly, in changing my bellhousing (so far as I can tell, it's a T18 currently in there); once the bellhousings are swapped, will the factory input shaft work without modification and what clutch am I using? I'm already aware I'll probably have to go with a neutral balance flywheel... I'm contemplating removing the transmission and mocking it up against the engine while both are out of the vehicle. This will be the first time I've done a swap like this and while I'm confident with everything else, I'm hung up on mating the transmission to the engine.

Thanks for any help!

PS - Was an FS6 compressor used on the 460 in 84?

Old 03-15-2021, 02:52 PM
Franklin2