6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Blown head Gasket????

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 12:02 PM
Paul Hicks
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Blown head Gasket????

Made a trip to New Orleans from Tennessee, drove the X everyday, drove back to TN, and the next morning the expansion tank cap had relieved and now there is water and oil in my coolant system, oil is about 4 Quarts low. Does anyone know of someone that does good work for a reasonable price?? I am a mechanic by trade on big diesels, but numerous people have told me that the 6.0 (2004 Eddie Bower edition) troublesome and will never be the same. Should I do this myself or get a professional to do it? Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-04-2014, 02:25 PM
Bigdaddybus
Senior User
Since you are a diesel mechanic by trade and assuming you have access to tools/work bay/etc I would tackle the project yourself.

I had my 05 6L done under warranty, but the work can be DIY for sure.

One thing I recommend is draining the drivers side block drain plug then lower radiator hose into a 5 gallon bucket. check out the sediment. That casting sand and gunk is what caused the issues. Its everywhere there is coolant and gets trapped in the radiator/egr cooler/oil cooler/ and heater core.
That sediment is why swapping out one part can work for awhile (you hear a lot about new oil coolers clogging just like the first) cleaning out the sediment and installing a coolant filter helps.

The parts I would recommend are.
1. EGR cooler delete, or one of the egr coolers with larger passages
2. New oem oil cooler
3. Oem head gaskets
4. ARP head studs
5. Coolant filter
6. Gauges to monitor engine oil temp and coolant temp
7. Back flush radiator, heater core, and engine coolant passages.
8. Fill with motorcraft coolant (not the green stuff)