46 Ford PU High School Project

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 05:01 PM
shopteacher
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
46 Ford PU High School Project

Hi,

I am an industrial arts teacher beginning a new job. I just bought a 1946 Ford pickup that's somewhat rusty but all there. The frame still looks solid. It has a V/8 flat head. I want to make a two year auto technology/auto body student restoral project out of it. It hasn't ran in 12 years or so and stopped becaused of a bad clutch.

I guess my first question is: should I keep the stock engine or update it? Are there rebuild kits for the flat head available?

Thanks in advance

Old 07-22-2008, 07:26 PM
mossyoak1992
Senior User
please leave the flathead i hate when people swap out motors and stuff like that i love to see old trucks as correct as posible and yes they do sell rebuild kits

Old 07-22-2008, 09:14 PM
46yblock
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It is your truck, do what you want. Flatheads are cool, but there are a lot of other options too. We all have personal preferences. Mine is that a Ford truck/car needs a Ford engine. Plus SBCs are BORING. And congratulations on being the proud owner of a jailbar (nickname courteousy of the Aussies).

Old 07-22-2008, 11:28 PM
Chaosracing
Posting Guru
Like 46 said, its your truck and do with it what you want. I have a 47 1 ton, but it has a 6 cyl that will be coming out and be replaced with wither a 390, 302 or 400. But if it would have a flat head 8 I myself would look at rebuilding it and keeping it in it. There are quite a few places around that can rebuild them properly (Jimmy Shine from SO Cal did it with his car) But with teaching a high school auto tech class, it might be better to swap in a newer motor/trans setup as most of those kids will probably never see a flathead again. Or it might be a cool teaching tool even if you didnt use it in the truck to show how the industry started out to what is used today.