Sponsored by:

What Year/Options to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2002, 03:15 PM
tim330i
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to 4X4s and broncos and would like some help. I am looking for a Bronco for around or under 3,000. It is going to be a winter/off-road/tow vehicle. It doesn't look like I can get anything much newer than 90-92 at best. I don't know anything so what year/options/equipment should I go for? If there are not any major advantages to getting a 90s I would rather get a upper 80s for cheaper and put the money into mods. Would I be better off getting as new a truck as possible?

What about Manual vs auto? Which is better?

I will probably have a mechanic look over the truck before I get it but are there things that I should stay away from right away?

Do any of these look like good deals?

[link:www.autotrader.com/findacar/results.jtmpl?model=BRON&start_year=1982&end_year= 1992&min_price=0&max_price=3000&distance=50&advanc ed=y&advcd_on=n&make=FORD&address=55439&search_typ e=used&x=73&y=14|Have a Look here]

I did search but couldn't find anything. If there are relevant posts that I missed sorry and please post the link.

Thanks in advance!

Tim

Old 12-27-2002, 03:31 PM
galaxiefiveohoh
Senior User

This is kind of a bad time of year to be shopping for a Bronco. After the first snow---everyone wants one and the prices are a bit higher. But, no matter which one you choose, have a trusted mechanic check it out good for you. There is lots of driveline under there and it can get expensive to repair. Rust is another killer around the back wheelwells and tailgate. I live in AZ and everyday I see Broncos for sale that look almost like new. It would pay you to look to the west for a nice truck so you don't have to contend with rust issues.