Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 F150 front axel u-joints (universal joints)

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2007, 07:17 PM
rmacinc
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 F150 front axel u-joints (universal joints)

Can anyone tell me exactly (be specific) how to replace the front axel u-joints on a 1996 Ford F150 and how hard it is to do them (don't sugar-coat it). Do I need any special tools and any special tips or tricks would help also. I have never done anything like this before. Thanks

Old 01-18-2007, 08:00 PM
alz
Fleet Mechanic
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
First, get yourself a service manual. It's not too hard. Do you plan on replacing all the axle u-joints or just the two outer ones? The manual goes over it pretty well.
Remove wheels.
Remove brakes.
Pull the hubs out.
Remove spindle nuts.
Remove hub/rotor assembly.
Remove the spindle from knuckle.
Remove the axle from diff on driver side.
Disassemble slip-joint and remove axle from pass side.
Replace axle u-joints.
Reinstall.

Give it a try. People are here to help.

Al
(if you need to replace the center axle u-joint, then you'll have to drop the differtial.)

I may have missed a few things, but that's the jist of it.

Old 01-18-2007, 08:06 PM
Fully_Loaded
Elder User