6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

U-joints question

Old 05-31-2014, 06:52 PM
Snuggyworm
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
U-joints question

hi all,

i've had some time to think….. and i thought of doing a u-joint replacement for the front axle by the wheels. i've never done one before so i figured i'd ask around those who have done it and could offer tips and advice on how not to screw up.

do i need to remove anything from the front, besides the u-joint by the wheel? how do i remove it? any torque settings? any special tools?

oh and would Moog u-joints be a good replacement? maybe someone can recommend a better replacement than Moog? what is the part number for the Moog one if it's good?

thanks again.

Old 05-31-2014, 07:25 PM
Bullitt390
Certified Thread Hijacker

Received 48 Likes on 34 Posts
Spicer for quality u-joints.

You have to remove the spindle to remove the axle shafts.

Josh

Old 05-31-2014, 07:44 PM
Snuggyworm
Postmaster
josh, is tat for the front? couldn't i just replace the u-joints for the left and right wheels right there? sorry i'm a little lost here. lol.

Old 05-31-2014, 07:47 PM
Snuggyworm
Postmaster
Spicer sounds good. just gotta find them now. any leads on part numbers? thanks.

Old 05-31-2014, 07:50 PM
Piolet
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Hi Dom,

I got all my parts from these guys ... Drivetrain America Auto Parts For Sale Rear Differential Spicer Driveline Ring Pinions

Best prices I could find. Also, I called on the phone and got a better price on shipping than the default values you get when you go through the website shopping cart.

Mine is a 2003 so I don't want to mix you up with my part numbers just in case.

Old 05-31-2014, 08:04 PM
Bullitt390

Originally Posted by Snuggyworm
josh, is tat for the front? couldn't i just replace the u-joints for the left and right wheels right there? sorry i'm a little lost here. lol.