help!! Enamel vs Clearcoat

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2004, 10:16 AM
rwr
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
help!! Enamel vs Clearcoat

all of the paint forums seem to be geared to basecoat clearcoat what about just using enamel, the extreme summers here seem to be rough on clear coats. the older trucks painted with enamel seem to hold up better. how do you prep and paint with enamel

Old 11-20-2004, 01:18 PM
Aekisu
Elder User
<cr>
Enamel lasting better than clearcoat? Never heard of such a thing.

Actually, the prep and painting is the same with both products. There is just one step less with enamel. You don't have to spray on the clear.

Old 11-20-2004, 04:38 PM
rustyoldford
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Last time I painted for a living(72)
I assume this clear coating is doable at home
whats the difference between this clearcoat and the clear I used to put over metalflake.
Where can I get a good read up on this, or should us old farts just stick to laquer and enamel

Old 11-20-2004, 06:05 PM
Aekisu
Elder User
<cr>
Sure clearcoat is doable at home but there are hazards associate with the modern clearcoats. Besides the normal solvent issues, you have to be concerned with isocyanates. Isocyanates are not something you want to be breathing. If fact, it was an isocyanate compound (Methyl Diisocyanate if I remember correctly) that killed off about 3000 people in India a few years ago, when a factory developed a leak.