1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

BP Is Now Top Tier Fuel

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 10:09 PM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts
BP Is Now Top Tier Fuel

Well it looks like BP has finally given up its stubborn resistance & has finally become a top tier fuel!!!! Top Tier Gasoline

Old 09-04-2013, 09:36 AM
tomw
Logistics Pro
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Wonder which additive company funds the Top Tier web site? More additives == more profits & sales by ChemCo.
Note the mfg's that want Top Tier:
BMW, General Motors, Honda, Toyota, Volkswagen, Mercedes-Benz and Audi

Among that crew, you don't see Ford, Honda, Nissan, any British, no Korean, and only one Japanese manufacturer. I'm not sure what that tells me.
The Cherman companies are Top Price sellers, and I'm a Ford Ranger S driver. Does that tell you I won't be likely to be visiting a "Top Tier" station soon? It should. Nothing against them, but I have a feeling they are a marketing tool for a large Chem Co. trying to get their 'mix' of additives rated as a requirement {or your warranty is void..?}.
tom

Old 09-04-2013, 10:08 AM
pawpaw
Before they became "Top Tier", Ford had long been promoting using BP.

As I understand it, "Top Tier" came about because the fuel quality, detergent additive level, ect, mandated by the EPA just wasn't cutting it, so the listed mfgrs banded together to set new min fuel standards, treat rate & deposit loading limits, that would eliminate most fuel system problems those mfgrs were then having, thus "Top Tier" came about.

Top Tier fuel has a good bit higher level of detergents, ect & those detergents must keep fuel system & engine deposits much lower than the min EPA LAC treat level.

To become a qualified Top Tier fuel, the marketer must demonstrate their ad pack & treat rate meets min deposit loading & that ad pack must be in All octane levels marketed.