6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

6.0L big problems?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2018, 01:21 PM
Bzfoster
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6.0L big problems?

Howdy. This is my first time ever posting to any forum of any type. I've tried to research and answer my questions without posting another problem that has already been answered somewhere on here, but I couldn't locate it. Anyway, I have an 04 6.0L with 257,000 miles. It has head studs and has apparently had the egr delete. However, I just acquired this truck (knowing it had issues), I just didn't know how deep the rabbit hole went. There is oil in the coolant reservoir, runs with hardly any power at all and blue smokes like crazy when driving. I climbed under it and it really looked like the truck was leaking fuel from the rear of the head gasket on the driver's side head. I started it just a minute ago and unscrewed the cap on the coolant tank trying to see if it was a blown head gasket but the oil/water mixture was like a calm pond in there, not the first bubble. What do I do? I am at a loss diagnostically on whether or not to tear it down to see if the head gasket is blown. Could there be another problem that would cause the loss of power and smoke and leak from the cylinder?

Old 11-01-2018, 01:47 PM
TooManyToys.
Hotshot

Received 2,074 Likes on 1,404 Posts
Pictures of the coolant soup would help and what does it smell like?

Old 11-01-2018, 01:54 PM
Bzfoster
New User
Smells like oil I suppose?

Old 11-01-2018, 02:10 PM
TooManyToys.
Hotshot