Exhaust Brake

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2017, 09:06 AM
ATSWFX4
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust Brake

Hey Guys,

So I'm new to the Diesel Community. I just bought a 2015 F350 CrewCab and I'm in love with it. Talking with some aquantances (They drive a Chevy), they mentioned the exhaust brake and that they use it all the time. It helps with brake wear. I looked in the owner's manual and it doesn't say anything. The Diesel Supplement has a small statement that it can help with towing.

My question is, should I be using the exhaust brake all the time? Only when towing? My understanding is that it doesn't put any more strain or work on the engine because it uses compression from the exhaust, but will prolonged use add additional wear on the motor?

Any help or understanding for the use of the exhaust brake would help. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find a thread addressing this.

Thanks,
ATSW FX4
2015 F350 CC Lariat FX4

Old 05-16-2017, 01:16 PM
Freightrain
Lead Driver

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
You can use it anytime you like. Just not during wet/snowy conditions as it could possibly lock up the rear tires and cause a slide.

I don't know how the newer trucks react, but my 2000 PSD would near stop using an aftermarket exhaust brake controller on it. It was a 6spd manual though and I would downshift it.

Try it once with no trailer, get the feel for it and you may find it quite handy during daily driving.

It puts no real strain on the engine, just using compression against the motor rotation to help slow you down. It basically gives you "gas engine" control over your speed. Diesels only coast when you quit giving it fuel, unlike a gas engine which once you close the throttle blades gives you "compression braking". Diesel has no throttle blades.

Old 05-16-2017, 03:30 PM
ATSWFX4
New User
THANKS Freightrain!!!