2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Why dealers lie to you

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2016, 02:24 PM
Frantz
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Why dealers lie to you

Sorry if this isn't best place for the topic... so... to make it fit the forum, the new 2017 SD truck is awesome!

Okay, I gotta do a quick vent, and I hope it might help some of us all get along more. As many of you know I sell commercial and retail accounts at a top secret Ford dealership. I come on this forum because I learn quite a bit about my customers from you. Generally I think most of the folks doing research on the forums are far more educated than the avg truck shopper. You guys are probably an avg in the top 10%. So today is the last day we know of 0% for many Ford models. I've had at least two customers (one returning and one I've been working with for 6 months) both tell me they were planning on going with dealership X because they were less money. Both of these customers I had spelled out the 0% offering and that they were saving around $6k to take 0% vs $3750 in rebates with Ford. Yet thanks to the horrible internet shopping guides they both were convinced I was thousands off their best deal! For petes sake, I make no money for offering 0%, at least I can make some kickback from banks with standard rates. I'm 100% trying to get them the smartest deal, and risk losing their business by not just cramming price at them. This is why dealerships lie, and don't offer the best deals up front. My folks are guys I've been able to build a relationship with so I think I have em both saved and I'll get the sales. But I know I lose business being too upfront. I had a guy today insisting on out the door pricing including his trade, which is a 12 year old 6.0 I've never seen. No way can I give you an honest price. How much would you buy a 12 year old 6.0 sight unseen for? Really folks, be friends with your local dealer and everyone will