Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

More Diesel questions from The Noob

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2003, 12:52 PM
HrlyDr
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question More Diesel questions from The Noob

Does anybody here have an educated guess as to what my fuel mileage should be with the 84 dually I just picked up?

4.10 rear, 3 spd auto trans. 6.9L w/ Banks Sidewinder

Also, since I'm learning...what additives should I consider for the oil, coolant, tranny...etc.?

And the previous owner said I should get some anti-bacterial treatment for the fuel in the rear tank since it's been sitting so long... HUH? What? Where? I have some antibacterial hand soap. LOL

Like I said, I'm a noob. But I want to learn!

Old 08-20-2003, 07:13 PM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts

Moved to diesel engine forum.

Old 08-20-2003, 07:33 PM
Lobstah
Junior User

Ummm...just out of curiousity, exactly where IS the "diesel engine forum"?
The 1984 truck he's talking about is a "pre-power stroke"...so where else should it go?

Lobstah

Old 08-20-2003, 07:44 PM
Lobstah
Junior User

The popular choice seems to be Stanadyne for fuel additives, followed closely by Walmart's brand, which I think is Power Source or something. I haven't found any Stanadyne here in my area, so use the Walmart stuff. The anti-bacterial stuff is basically for when diesel sits for extended periods of time. Was this due to a problem he already experienced with your truck, or was he just being cautious? I used to run a fungicide in the fuel tanks on my boat, but that was because I had 400gals in tanks, and would only burn about 200gals in a season, so the fuel was pretty stagnant. Unless there's no problem now, the chances are pretty slim of you getting bacteria growning in your fuel tanks. If it was specific to the rear tank, and you can't find any at your local NAPA or CAP, go to a marine supply store like West, they'll have what you need.