Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 F150 6cyl 300 crank no start

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2016, 01:20 AM
brfreder20
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 F150 6cyl 300 crank no start

Ok, my first post on this site and need some help and expertise. I am a novice at fixing and trouble shooting but love to learn so if you can use small words I can usually figure it out!!!

History: When first purchased a couple of months ago I noticed the Coolant sensor was strangely attached and made to stay in place with some type of gasket making material. I did get a check engine light for the sensor and it has been replaced. I had removed the idle control sensor and TPS connectors and cleaned with brake fluid Began to run badly and I got a new check engine light due to a bent pin on the TPS (either pin 1 or 3, can't remember). I straightened the pin and reconnected which resolved the Check Engine light but it ran rough and then had increasing issues to include runs rough even when the engine is hot and hesitates when you step on the gas. Several episodes of truck shifting weirdly while going up aa hill like it couldn't decide which gear was the best to use. Other symptoms and problems that exist are: start in morning and stalls immediately. Start again and RPM goes up for about 30 seconds and then drops to lower more normal idle speed, push on the accelerator and will most likely stall when the engine is cold but acts fine when the engine is hot.