6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Transmission Going into "Safe Mode"

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2015, 05:26 PM
Joseph D. Kendall
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission Going into "Safe Mode"

2007 F350 HD Model 6.0 - ~170,000 with Edge CTS Programmer

History:

Failed Torque Converter (TC) at ~135,000 miles. Replaced Transmission with used one out of a 2004 with ~50,000 miles on it. Put in brand new OEM TC. No transmission issues until now ~35,000 miles.

Issues I have observed:

Fuse box in engine compartment missing cover. Admittedly didn't really consider the implications of this (stupid as I am an Electrical Engineer)

Battery hold down came loose while off-road and battery "jumped" and broke plastic covers off PCM connectors, no damage to engine harness wires but Trans harness wires had some insulation nicked off but none broken. Covered nicked wires with liquid electrical tape.

Additionally I admittedly routed the Trans harness incorrectly when reinstalling it and zip-tied it to the frame above the fwd drive shaft instead of under... the harness sagged and caused a short in the transfer case wiring which caused an erroneous shift to 4wd (luckily not at fast speed and I immediately shifted to neutral and stopped the truck). I repaired the broken wires and the truck has operated fine until now ~5,000 miles.

What Happened: