6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

General WTF

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2015, 03:03 PM
Bronco POPO
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
General WTF

First off, I have an early 6.0 in a 2004 F250. I love the truck. Now for the good stuff. I recently had a slight problem with the coolant. It was down about two gallons. Probably mostly my fault for not checking under the hood as often as I should. But anyway, I took it to the dealer, cuz i don't know any GOOD r4epair places out in the boonies. This is what they told me. " I need new head gaskets because the pressure test had a drop of 4 pounds in 10 min. HUM! And $6800.00 worth of parts and labor! HUM. Truck only has 104551 for mileage! They also found the lower radiator hose was chaffed almost all the way thru but wouldn't fix that, they wanted the money! Here is what i found (by the way, I are a backyard mechanic by trade). After changing the lower radiator hose and flushing the green coolant out that the dealer put in, I serviced it with real coolant, What is supposed to be in it. Bled the system and let it warm up under fast rpm. I then noticed steam coming from under the degas cap. I think I found part of the problem. New upgraded cap!! No bubbles in the "overflow tank" and no vapor out of the tail pipe. Took it to a radiator shop for another pressure test and he did it a bit different. He attached a hose to the drain and "cracked the drain open. Punped it up to 18 psi and son of a gun, no drop in 15 min. Now all i have to do is find that damn EGR cooler!!!

Old 01-10-2015, 04:07 PM
Shaneb75
Strokin Okie

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by Bronco POPO