Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

Ford Escape 2002 Code P1405

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2013, 06:24 PM
strikechords
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ford Escape 2002 Code P1405

My Check engine light came on 2 months ago...I had the code read at Autozone and and they told me to change the DPFE sensor. I did this and the Check engine light went off.

It came on again three weeks later and I had the code read at Autozone again. The code is P1405. it's saying that the DPFE sensor upstream hose is off or unplugged; ECM detected EGR flow in a negative direction with no EGR flow command.

Probable causes listed are: failed DPFE sensor (BUT i already replaced this);
Open or shorted circuit condition; or
Plugged or damaged EGR Tube.

I am a novice when it comes to car repairs, but I am learning and I am wondering if changing the EGR tube is something within my skill level. I also don't know what a open or shorted circuit condition could mean.

If i changed my EGR tube on my own, are there any things I should be wary of?

PLEASE any help you can offer, would be much obliged!

Thank you

Old 09-17-2013, 07:50 PM
sandrat
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by strikechords
are there any things I should be wary of?
Yeah, the tube not fixing it.

Not saying that the tube couldn't be at fault, but I've seen way too many failed sensors and torn hoses, and maybe.....1 tube in the ten years Escapes have been around roughly. I know the sensor is new, but did you get it from Autozone? That might be the problem right there (yes I'm being a snob. No I don't care.)

So you want to learn about modern auto repair. Step 1, research scan tools and find one capable of monitoring data, it'll be one of best investments you ever make.