True duels on '00 expy 4.6?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2013, 10:54 PM
slovride
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
True duels on '00 expy 4.6?

I used to be a mechanic back in the day and was pretty good at fabricating exhaust. However has anyone attempted to put true duels on an expedition? I have duel cats and then they go to a Y pipe to the muffler. I would just assume buy a kit if it exist but it seems not to be out there. I just think it would sound beautiful if it was true duel like mustangs sound.

Old 03-01-2013, 08:27 PM
V10man
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I put true duals on my 97 F150 4.6L. Easy as pie. Cut out the Y and dual it out. I used 2 1/4 tube and Dynomax Super Turbos. Exit in front of the rear tire, passenger side. There is not a premade kit out there. I even dualed out my 07 F150 5.4L in the same manner.

Old 03-04-2013, 07:27 AM
slovride
Senior User
Now a lot of people in other forums are saying it hurts low, torque. I also was thinking that if the right bank pipe is longer due to working it around the tank, wouldn't that change the back pressure between the two banks... was also thinking of trying to compensate for that, but cant find a pic online of the underside/ don't have a lift of my own to snap a shot to start mocking up some drawings to calculate for all that. Or maybe I am going overboard? I used to do exhaust at a shop cause no one else was good at it where I worked years ago, however I usualy fabricated pipes that were more or less the same shapes as original pipes. In addition I have a few books on calculating this stuff. Any thoughts considering all this?

Old 03-04-2013, 07:30 AM
slovride
Senior User
One more thought I had, when looking at my exhaust yesterday (while splicing in a section of transmission line... tons of fun w/o a lift lol), I noticed that right after my dual cats I had a cross over. Should I remove that? or does that benefit me to have for the engines tune?

Old 03-04-2013, 08:33 AM
KhanTyranitar