1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Intermittent electrical issue.

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2012, 05:54 PM
bigfix
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intermittent electrical issue.

I've got an interesting issue going on in my 1984 F-150.

Every once in a while my turn signals and blower motor will cease to function. They both stop working at the same time every time. Yesterday the truck would not start. It jumped fine, but I suspect there is a short somewhere causing a drain on the battery, and I also suspect that it's somehow related to the blower motor and turn signal. I've examined the wiring diagram and and cannot find a common link that would cause both the blower and turn signals to stop working, but I'm not very good with wiring diagrams or electrical issues, and of course every time I try to diagnose the issue on the truck itself, the blower and signals start working again when I start it to pull it in the garage. Hopefully some of you good folks have an idea or two to throw at me, because I'm stumped.

Old 01-01-2012, 07:00 PM
mark89
New User
Could be your ignition switch. I've had 2 go bad, one in my 82 and one in my 83 rv. The rv is the one that did many different things, guages pegging, starter staying engaged, heater blower stopping, draining the battery, not starting up and I believe it affected the turn signals also.

Old 01-01-2012, 07:21 PM
skeneguy
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
This happens to me in colder weather, blower and signals won't work. I figured it out to be the ignition key wasn't completely returning to "run" after "start" and the ignition switch not making the correct connections. I just give the key switch a little counter clockwise encouragement and the blower and signals spring back to life. There's was a thread on this some time back but I don't recall a definitive fix.

Old 01-01-2012, 07:30 PM
ctubutis
Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts