Sponsored by: DP Tuner

New SCT Live Wire on the way

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011, 12:13 PM
Finally Powerstrokin
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New SCT Live Wire on the way

Ok so I finally did it I took the plunge and got myself a Programmer. I have not gotten it in the mail yet but I am hoping it will be delivered tomorrow. Anyways I am fairly new to all of this and I only know what I have read. Right now my truck is stock everything but I plan on modifying stuff a little at a time and i know everybody is going to say I should have gotten the programmer after the Mod's. I also know that most people here use Jody at DP Tuners. I looked around for a while and the best deal I found on the Live Wire came with the EGT kit, the tuner, and 3 custom tunes from someone other than DP Tuners. Everything I have read about this other place that does these tunes has been possitive. So I am planning on only running my truck with the tune that is set up for economy at first. I know this tune still has more power and torque than stock. So my question is. Will it be ok to run this tune in my stock truck for now? and also the live wire gives you the choice of like nine different things you can monitor but you can only monitor 4 at a time I think. Which ones are the most important to watch? I know the EGT's are very important but I dont know what the normal vs danger levels are. I would also like some info on what Mod's I should make first. I do plan on using the "Race" type tunes some once the mod's have been made. Like I said I am pretty new to this and I dont want to destroy my Truck. Thanks in advance for any help or advice anyone has to offer.

Old 09-22-2011, 02:40 PM
honeydew
Posting Guru

This image of an Isspro pyrometer can be used as a reference for EGT safe vs. danger levels:

Old 09-22-2011, 02:47 PM
Finally Powerstrokin
Junior User
Ok thanks it looks like as long as it stays below 1000 its all good.

Old 09-22-2011, 02:49 PM
honeydew
Posting Guru