1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Strange Stalling Issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2015, 09:41 AM
bwpatton1
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Strange Stalling Issues

Im fairly new to diesels let alone old powerstrokes, so excuse me if I sound ignorant. I purchased an early 1997 F350 7.3 a couple of months ago for very cheap because it had oil in the water. Turns out that it needed new injector cups. That was an easy fix. Its got 318k on it but the motor was rebuilt by International at some point in the past (?) It runs very strong and even feels better than my friends dads 97 with 266k on the clock. The Check Engine light has been on for a while and I went and got the codes pulled. Damn was that a mistake. It pulled:
P0237-Turbo Boost Sensor A circuit low
P0475-SAE exhaust pressure control valve malfunction
P0713-Trans fluid temp sensor circuit high
P1280- Integrated control panel circuit out of range, low
P0344- CPS malfunction
P0340- CPS Intermittent
P1211-ICP higher or lower than desired
The truck starts right up with a little hesitation. Transmission shifts hard when its cold sometimes but I think a new solenoid pack will remedy that and the P0713 code. The issue that just appeared was it stalling, The truck stalls at low speeds. It appears to only be in driveways at idle or moving at less than 5 mph but when you get it out on the road it runs fine. Once it stalls it will start right back with no problem. I replaced the CPS sensor with a Genuine motorcraft one because that seemed most logical but the codes didnt clear themselves and the truck is still stalling intermittently. Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. I love this old beast but she needs to run right!

Old 07-09-2015, 09:50 AM
sean9049
Senior User
how did the pigtail for the cps look?
are you clearing the codes once you read them?

Old 07-09-2015, 10:12 AM
MOOSE_MACHINE
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts