2002 E150 4R70W donor options

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2014, 10:22 AM
RVanPeeren
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 E150 4R70W donor options

Hi all. I'm new to Ford work but have been doing everything on my Jeep for years. I've tackled suspension upgrades, engine rebuilds, axle gear swaps, and just about anything else that was needed. So I'm not afraid to dig into the transmission on my E150 van. I been searching for answers for the past 2 days, but have not found the info I need.

A short history - The rear brake line rusted out causing a loss of most braking. I manually downshifted the trans to slow down at stop signs and limped 5 miles home. After fixing the brakes, the trans had a loud whine noise in 1st gear. I changed the oil and clean out the metal chunks in the pan hoping for the best. My daughter drove it for a few weeks but said it started making a loud grinding noise the last time she drove it. I planned on a trans rebuild but my wife decided to take it to the store but didn't make it. It stopped moving and stalled the engine when she tried to drive it. I had it towed home.

It will not move forward at all and when you shift into any forward gear it stalls the engine. Reverse will not move it but it does not stall. It did not roll backwards in the driveway (slight incline) but I was able to push it into the garage with my riding mower with the van in neutral.

The van has the 4.6L engine. Trans is a 4R70W. I would like to rebuild it using a full rebuild kit (cost is around $200 from what I've found) but I worried that it is damaged beyond what a rebuild will fix. I called a few junkyards and was told that the trans in my van is unique to the 2001 to 2003 E150.

If my trans is not rebuildable, what makes it so unique and what would I have to do to a trans from a different donor vehicle to make it work? What other donor year/vehicles can I use?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Old 07-27-2014, 02:02 PM
RVanPeeren
New User