1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hi-Lift Jack?

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 02:15 PM
cbzdel
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi-Lift Jack?

I am trying to come up with a way of easily lifting the truck for maintenance reasons, mainly tire rotations, I am planning ahead for my 6" lift as well, so I regular old jack will not work very well.

I was thinking I could use a Hi-Lift jack on the front tow hooks to lift the front and the set it on a jack stand.. And to lift the rear I could use a d-ring shackle in the reciever hitch..

I have never used a Hi-Lift before and it seems like there are alot of mixed reviews.. But its just an idea, anything else come to mind??

Old 02-17-2012, 02:18 PM
Parts Jimmy
Senior User
Originally Posted by cbzdel
I am trying to come up with a way of easily lifting the truck for maintenance reasons, mainly tire rotations, I am planning ahead for my 6" lift as well, so I regular old jack will not work very well.

I was thinking I could use a Hi-Lift jack on the front tow hooks to lift the front and the set it on a jack stand.. And to lift the rear I could use a d-ring shackle in the reciever hitch..

I have never used a Hi-Lift before and it seems like there are alot of mixed reviews.. But its just an idea, anything else come to mind??
It is not safe to get under a truck using those hi-lift jacks. I would suggest a large floor jack with jack stands. Place the floor jack under the axles. A high-lift will allow the axles to drop making you have to jack up the truck awfully high also.

Old 02-17-2012, 02:25 PM
Byram
Posting Guru