Sponsored by: DP Tuner

EBPV questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2010, 10:18 PM
1979BEAST
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question EBPV questions

My hpop is leaking from the rear cover so I pulled every thing out to have room to try an change it without pulling the hpop off but I also noticed my ebpv is starting to leak and was wondering if it would be smart of me to delete it I live in northern wisconsin how hard is it to pull the turbo out I ordered the o rings for it as a just in case good thing I did this is my first time werkin on a diesel so its all new to me any tips on the job at hand would be very helpful thanks guys

Old 04-29-2010, 10:28 PM
mueckster
Lead Driver
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Many have deleted the EBPV with no ill effects. One reason to keep it is if you want to use it as an exhaust brake. I deleted mine at the first sign of an oil leak and never looked back. I do live a little farther south though.
Be sure to soak the clamps with PB Blaster or other penetrating oil beforehand to make life easier when trying to remove them. Also check your uppipes for leaks. It is a good time top upgrade or repair them while the turbo is out.

Old 04-29-2010, 11:04 PM
1979BEAST
Senior User
Down pipe is disconnected what clamp are you referring to? I checked the up pipes were they go into the colecter or what ever it is they arnt leaking yet next year when I order my 38R I'm going to upgrade those would they be leaking there or down by the manifolds ? Like I sed though I'm a noob when it comes to newer trucks an diesels any special tools I'm goin to need ?

Old 04-29-2010, 11:11 PM
mueckster
Lead Driver
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts