Sponsored by: Moser

New And Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2010, 12:54 AM
G4mb1t
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New And Need Help

Hello to everyone! lol Im new to the classic world. Trying to start my first project, everything was going ok, on a budget saved up enough money to buy a running truck that i could drive but also work on at the same time, i thought it was a 76 ford f150 4x4 with a 390. But no matter what part i buy at the local auto part store i have to take it back (thermostat, Drive Shaft, U Joints thats it so far). Bought the u joints to find out that the male end of the yoke was bad with the female end. Took it to a local driveline shop in here and they told me they wanted 430 to fix it (its a spicer drive shaft and yoke on the old one). So cheap me was like no, went to local parts store *cough* Autozone *cough* and order one. got it in after 2 days. didnt put it in right away cuz i need the carrier bearing pressed on. got that yesterday and today i put the front half of the rear 2 piece drive line in. everything went prefectly, then got the drive shaft put it up to the rear mount of the differetial, and the litlle tabes that hold in the u joint caps one was right and on the other side it was about a inch short. Its to small width wise. the holes to put the u bolts didnt line up and im starting to wonder what my truck is. Could it possible be a rear axel swap or a body swap or what, im at a loss.

Can someone please help me, i rather not pay 430, but if it comes down to it i might have to. Thanks for any help, sorry for the story im kinda new

Ill be posting pictures of the engine and everything underneath soon.

Old 04-10-2010, 04:11 AM
duste
Laughing Gas
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts