1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

problems with early thermostats/water pump

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2009, 07:19 PM
RRranch
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
problems with early thermostats/water pump

I have a new to me 94 powerstroke and plan to put a lot of miles on this one in the future. I've only had it about 3 weeks now but pretty much have all the bubba jobs fixed and the truck running like a champ. It came with a nearly new slide in camper and I just love it.

Anyway, I replaced the thermostat a few days ago. I thought I was being slick and sandblasted the old housing, repainted it and reused it. It looked like new. It started leaking yesterday though. I should have known better than try. I used a stant thermostat, short stem one like is supposed to be in there and now that I've been researching thermostat housings I'm worried about it. It's amazing that in all the years I was a Ford mechanic I never knew there was a difference in thermostats in these things.

I was wondering if my pump takes the short thermostat but these things supposedly aren't safe for the back two cylinders then what is the fix for it? can the pump and tstat from a 97 truck be used instead?

This truck ran cold with the stuck open thermostat that was in it when I got it but with a new one it's not that warm really either unless I'm really loaded. Normally, 190 is about what the upper hose is running at when I've come in off a trip to town. I checked with a laser thermometer.

This year sometime we'll be loading up the camper and a couple horses and heading for Alaska way up North on the coast of the Bering sea all the way from Texas. I want to fix any potential problems before they become a problem. Last time I did that trip we covered at least 2000 miles of dirt roads and I some pretty serious mountains. Not many parts houses on the way either. That trip was in a 4 banger Ford ranger. I'm going in comfort this time.

Old 03-14-2009, 07:30 PM
1dieselman
Elder User