Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 F-250 Ext. Cab 4X4

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2009, 12:37 AM
bucketosudz
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 F-250 Ext. Cab 4X4

I am a Noob to the forum, and have been lurking for a little while here. I purchased a 90 F-250 4X4 Extended Cab this summer to replace the (83 F-250 2WD I had) It had 120,000 on it and appeared to be pretty well taken care of, the paint was fairly new, it came with a Glasstite topper and I paid $3000 for it. I robbed the carpeted bed kit out of the 83 we had, and put it in the 90 to be used as a camping rig for my our young family of 5. I really like this truck and dont mind the styling,(despite liking the 92-96 style better) it looked sharp and drove well, but now 6 months later it is in the shop getting a new E40D rebuild to the tune of $3000+. Now I will be the first to say that you get what you pay for, and I know I am paying out the nose, but wrenching a bunch at this time is not an option for me.

I would like to keep the truck and make a few modifications and see if we cant make a nice modest 4X4 camping vehicle that wouldn't be afraid of towing a trailer with a ATV, or load of wood. The mods I would like to make is custom front winch bumper, custom rear bumper with a expedition style spare holder, and a over the shell carpenters rack for a Roof Top Tent. I would like to modestly lift the truck, 2-3" suspension lift perhaps. Functionally these mods wouldn't terribly beneficial, but I am looking to have some fun also.