Blowout under load

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2008, 08:04 PM
StanleyZ
Logistics Pro
Received 69 Likes on 31 Posts
Smile Blowout under load

was having a conversation with a guy today on the subject of DRW vs SRW. We talked about airbags and rickson wheels and tires and then he said something that stopped me in my tracks. I've been towing my 5er for 7 years but this guys been towing lots of stuff for 30 or 40 years. he says " If you have a blowout while towing with SRWs you're gonna have an accident, period." What do yo'all think? has anyone on here had a blowout under load at highway speed? If so, did you live? I'm thinking that the stability of a 5th wheel or goose neck would keep the truck and trailer pretty stable even during a blowout, but I have no experience to base that on. As always your response is appreciated, knowledgable responses are really appreciated.

Old 10-13-2008, 10:28 PM
Tim C
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had a left rear blowout on my 2003 F250 (srw) while pulling my 78 F150 on a flatbed bumper pull equipment trailer at 60 mph on a two lane highway on my way to a four wheeling spot. The tires at the time were 37" super swamper ssrs. The back of the truck dropped enough that the trailer jack was able to scrape along the road, but I was able to stay in my lane, safely slow down, cross a small bridge over a creek, and pull off the road to change the tire. The truck didnt pull one way or the other when the rear tire blew. It could have been just dumb luck as it has only happened that one time under load.

I also had one of those swampers blow out on the right front while empty that required a tow truck to winch me out of a 5' ditch. When the front blew and the front of the truck dropped with that large of a tire on it, it actually ripped the wheel from my hands. I fought back but ultimately the ditch won, of course on the front it doesnt mater if you have srw or drw, so that is besides the point.