Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Intermittent Starting Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2008, 09:21 PM
usherac21
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intermittent Starting Problem

I'm having a problem starting my 2001 Excursion 7.3. No mods have been done to it at all. It had a recent CPS installed under recall by Ford. Sometimes when I start the truck, it will not start on the first two attempts, no matter how long I crank. It will start almost immediately on the third try. It ten lobes for a few seconds before smoothing out. Sometimes it starts on the first attempt with no issues. I'm new to diesels and would appreciate anything you guys can suggest.

Old 08-27-2008, 09:33 PM
medhvac
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
will im glad i never went ahead and had that CPS recall done!what color CPS did they put in there?sorry im no help!

Old 08-27-2008, 10:08 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
How long does the truck sit before you have this problem? Is it only when the engine is cold, hot, or both? It doesn't sound like a CPS, but who really knows with those things. Did this start immediately after the CPS change?

How old is your engine oil, and is it full? Fuel and air filters clean?

Old 08-27-2008, 10:21 PM
bdrummonds
Post Fiend
To early in the year for the Romps. I am thinking trash in the intank screen or maybe in the pump screen, or if you have not changed your fuel filter lately it may be that simple.

Old 08-28-2008, 08:37 AM
Action4478
Hotshot
Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts
Originally Posted by usherac21