Oil & Lubrication  

Synthetic Trans Fluid

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2007, 02:26 PM
MLCRI$I$ II
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Synthetic Trans Fluid

When car makers get very specific about which trans fluids to use with a particular model trans (MERCON, MERCON V, DEXRON, TYPE F, etc.) and caution you not to mix or use the wrong type.......the question I have is........HOW IS IT THAT SYNTHETIC TRANSMISSION FLUID IS COMPATIBLE WITH ALL TRANSMISSIONS? Please clarify if I my statement is wrong. I am sure thats what I read. I used MOBIL 1 SYN TRANS FLUID in a Honda Accord with no problems, but that is my only experience. THANKS.

Old 05-22-2007, 04:35 PM
jim henderson
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I am no expert on tranny fluids but I recall, that most of them will have fine print saying meets such and such spec for yadda yadda type fluid.

Dexron and Mercon are close enough that I have seen dual capability fluids for decades. F is different enough that it is not compatible with Dexron/Mercon so I have read. Mercon V is supposedly slightly different from Mercon so that you are not downwards compatible but supposedly Ok to move up to V.

I am guessing the syns consider their product to be upwards compatible from the Dexron/Mercon types. I would think they don't pay a lot of attention to F type since that hasn't been used in modern trannies since maybe the 70s? I could be wrong, but this is my guessing about how they are making their claims.

I have read from a few websites that the syn fluids sometimes don't work as well as the specified fluid. I moved from dino Dexron II to Mobil 1 in a chebby and it seemed to soften my shifts. On other Fords I have heard it makes the shift hard and inconsistent.

Good Luck,

Jim Henderson

Old 05-23-2007, 10:04 AM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts