General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Fly Rod & Reel

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2006, 08:15 PM
TN-W124 Diesel
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fly Rod & Reel

I would like to take up fly fishing, and wanted to buy a fly rod and reel. I am a experience fisherman, but not with a fly rod. any suggestions?

Old 04-10-2006, 09:36 PM
BikerWithTruck
Senior User
There's a shop near me that has free classes from time to time, make some calls, if you find something like that you could learn the basics and try out some gear at the same time free of charge. Find a mentor or spend years just getting started.

Fly fising is great - it's a whole different experience, let us know how you like it.

Old 04-10-2006, 10:53 PM
olfordsnstone
Lead Driver
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I took the solo approach to learning to fly fish. I'm still learning. It's that kind of sport, but If I could do it all over again, I think I would have done the lesson thing. I now have some bad habbits that are difficult to lose that I don't think I would have acquired with direction to avoid them. You miss out on alot when you read up on FF, then try to apply it on the water. Once your practice becomes flawed, it's hard to fix it. Better to have bad practice caught and corrected before it becomes habbit.
Great sport though. You'll love it. A study in entimology to boot. I'm pretty sure that you'll be challenged for progression toward expertise for the rest of your life. Very fulfilling.

I like Fenwick. Fairly priced and good quality. Costco has fly rod and reel combos for cheap that would be good to learn on, and would give you time to decide if you really do want to keep up the effort. I believe the sets they have are of the Martin brand.

The most important equipment, other than line and flies, is the rod. The reel is simply a storage for line. Most of the actual action is with the rod itself.