Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

ABS and Rear Differential Fluid

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2005, 09:32 AM
the_merlin
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation ABS and Rear Differential Fluid

I have a '99 Explorer 4x4 v6 XLT. My abs light came on and I am seeing that I should change out the speed sensor on the driver's front side of the rear differential. I'd like to change the differential fluid at the same time. However, I have never done such a thing before and I'm not very savy with maintenance. Can someone please provide me with very detailed instructions on how to change the differential fluid? I'm hoping I can do this without jacking or putting it up on blocks. Trust me, you can't provide enough details, even how to remove the cover. Do I need special tools?

Old 12-08-2005, 04:27 PM
the_merlin
New User
Come on. All these views and no one willing to help a fellow ford owner?

Old 12-08-2005, 10:52 PM
Jharger
Posting Guru
Maybe because you question is autoshop 101 material. If you know enough to know there is a speed sensor in the diff to control the ABS system that's relatively advanced over changing diff fluid. But here you go.

I usually start by getting a 6 pack on ice. Leave it right next to the truck so I don't have to go to far for a new one.

If your car is stock, you'll need to jack it up a few inches, unless you're really skinny. Then place a drain pan under the diff. Remove the rear cover and watch the fluid por into the pan. You'l get a couple quarts out. Then start cleaning the cover with degreaser. When I get all the oil off, I wash it with soap and water to get all the oil residue off. This way, the RTV is sure to stick when I reinstall it.