When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
ok, i have AOL for my internet provider. i got an email just a bit ago, pretty basically stating this
"Dear Member:
Your account has been suspended from sending e-mails and participating in member chatrooms because your screen name has been used to send out spam e-mails. To unsuspend your account click this link"
there is a link to click on... but somehow i really feel like this is a scam or some way for a virus to get run into the computer. i DO NOT want to click on the link, and it seems like im still getting emails just fine. i am not on my own computer right now so i cant check if the chat rooms will work.
the email adress it came from is simply- TotalMooreXX ( the XX represents 2 numbers, i dont want to give out for obvious reasons )
has anyone recieved an email like this?
if so, is it something to worry about, delete, deal with, or notify AOL about? id notify AOL right now but... im going to bed ASAP
Call AOL ask what the deal is. Most likely this is a prank message. When AOL suspends your acount due to SPAM and other reasons, they don't just suspend email, they shut down your entire account and you have to call and it's not fun. We had some people hack into our AOL account back when we had it, and emailed like 1500 **** emails.. all within 3 seconds. AOL shutdown all of our accounts that were under the same name.
On AOL's home page, do they offer a support link?
On that link do they offer a place where you can enter a web site address and then AOL will confirm if it is a legitimate AOL address or other.
Can only tell you what I do, I have another provider that does offer the above.
Right click on the link, in pop-up menu click copy link location.
Go to support site, right click in verify window, click paste, then click OK or search.
Provider then verifies link address. If legitimate, browser will take you there, if not legitimate, a message to that effect is shown and gives you further instructions on reporting that link without it learning your address.
That's what I do with emails that look suspicious on eBay or Paypal. Maybe AOL has the same service. If they do, then they will email you back and let you know if it was from them.
First off, if your account REALLY was suspended.. how are you reading that email?
Secondly, email coming from AOL will have a blue AOL colored 'icon' (envelope?) next to it which indicates it actually came from AOL.
Thirdly, they would never use an address like TotalMooreXX or whatever.
I receive email like this all the time. I either delete it or forward it to tosemail1@aol.com if it truly came from an aol member. That's the terms of service account if another member is sending out mail they aren't supposed to.
Something along those lines has happened to me. I'm also on AOL, but under my brother's account (different screen name). His wife's mom is also sharing the account, and has somehow on two different occassions done something that alerted AOL to shutting down his account. He had to contact AOL to explain what happened, and ended up with new passwords both times. We still don't know what she did to get AOL all wound up. At any rate he got it cleared up after a phone call or two.
This Hennessey Takes the Expedition Tremor's Off-Roading Capability to the Next Level
Slideshow: The VelociRaptor Expedition gains a lift, upgraded suspension, Brembo brakes, and trail-ready equipment while retaining the stock 440-horsepower EcoBoost V6.
Rezvani's Latest Post-Apocalyptic Monster Is a Ford F-150 Raptor Underneath
Slideshow: Called the Fortress, the 850-horsepower pickup combines Raptor underpinnings with military-inspired features, survival equipment, and a starting price of $285,000.