Notices
Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Poor MPG

Old 02-09-2019, 09:38 PM
BatteriesNotIncluded
Senior User
BatteriesNotIncluded is starting off with a positive reputation.
Poor MPG

The roads of Minnesota are laden with snow and ice, so maybe that's the thing with my new Ex (6.8L V10)

... but all urban miles on my last tank averaged out at 4.5mpg

Blergh. I know there's something up.

And I don't have a lead foot - nowhere near it. On the roads or off the line.

I'm a complete novice. Where best to start? Something I can do myself without being ripped off by a shop...

Thanks all.

Old 02-09-2019, 09:56 PM
agsmv1
Posting Guru
agsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to beholdagsmv1 is a splendid one to behold
How did you come up with 4.5mpg? Hand calculated?

Old 02-09-2019, 10:00 PM
BatteriesNotIncluded
Senior User
Originally Posted by agsmv1 View Post
How did you come up with 4.5mpg? Hand calculated?
Sure is. 200 miles to my last full tank.

Old 02-09-2019, 11:52 PM
PrescottIce
Elder User
PrescottIce has a good reputation on FTE.PrescottIce has a good reputation on FTE.PrescottIce has a good reputation on FTE.
4x4? Are your front hubs locked?

Old 02-10-2019, 03:00 AM
AlaskanEx
Bleed Ford Blue
AlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputationAlaskanEx has a superb reputation
Originally Posted by PrescottIce View Post
4x4? Are your front hubs locked?