Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Low EGT at manifolds - 99 7.3l Powerstroke

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2018, 11:12 AM
Airman1989
Tuned
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Low EGT at manifolds - 99 7.3l Powerstroke

Ive been trying to track down the cause of little power under 2100 rpms and I decided to check the EGTs at the manifold. Parts of the manifold read around 100 degrees, other drivers side reads 140-160 and the rear part of drivers side reads 206 degrees. These temps are at idle warmed up, Ohio 20 degree weather.

To me it looks like something’s going on with fuel maybe? Injector o rings? I also have a good amount of blue smoke at cold start but it goes away when warmed up and never comes back no matter the load.

Im still learning about diesels, any thoughts?

Old 12-18-2018, 11:25 AM
Sous
Fleet Owner
Received 4,464 Likes on 2,853 Posts
What are the miles on your truck and what are the miles that you suspect are on the injectors?

How long have you had the truck?

Do you know the history of the injectors?

Does the truck idle and run fine best that you can tell?

Have you ever been under the valve covers for a visual inspection or to do some work like replace glow plugs?

What year is your truck?

Old 12-18-2018, 11:30 AM
Airman1989
Tuned
Originally Posted by Sous
What are the miles on your truck and what are the miles that you suspect are on the injectors?

How long have you had the truck?

Do you know the history of the injectors?

Does the truck idle and run fine best that you can tell?

Have you ever been under the valve covers for a visual inspection or to do some work like replace glow plugs?

What year is your truck?

Thanks for the quick reply.

Its a 1999 that I bought about a month ago now with 257,000 miles on the engine. I’m unsure of the mileage on the injectors.

I haven’t replaced anything yet I’ve just been testing and so far everything has check out, until now. Fuel pressure is good, holds at 63-65psi under a load.