1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

2004 E-350 brake upgrade?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2017, 05:21 PM
AaronE350
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2004 E-350 brake upgrade?

Hi, I'm new to my E-350 Super Duty (building a camper conversion) but I've done a bit of easy work on previous vehicles (brakes, suspension, starters, radiators, stuff like that).

I've had concern with my brakes a couple times going downhill. I try to stay off the brake as much as possible, but this big ol' girl just loves to accelerate on the downhill, and even with downshifting and trying to stay off the brakes as much as possible I've smelled my brakes a few times. I've never had it get to the point of an actual braking performance problem, but I had a vehicle in the past that had a problem with hot brakes and boiling fluid and I'd like to help ensure I don't encounter that again.

Have other people had issues with the stock brakes? Is there a common upgrade/fix? I could throw on any drilled/slotted rotors and see what happens, but I'd like a little more feedback on specific options before experimenting.

On a previous vehicle I had, a common upgrade was to use a rotor from a later year of the same model as it was a bit larger and had more mass to absorb heat, but was a direct bolt on replacement. Is there a similar simple direct upgrade for the '04 E-350? Or maybe a different rotor option that was available with a tow package or something?

Thanks!

Old 11-13-2017, 05:45 PM
Im50fast
Cargo Master
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
There’s a detailed thread somewhere on this forum about upgrading to ‘08 front brakes.
However I highly recommend Powerstop Z36 “truck and tow performance” kit.
Ive had two sets over the last 200,000 miles and they’re great. These brakes will throw your toupee on the dash. They are guaranteed noise-free and I have a few hundred thousand miles of experience to back up that claim.