Sponsored by: Moser

Lift Block Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2017, 10:05 AM
preppypyro
FTE Legend
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Lift Block Questions

Hey guys and gals, I am looking at a 77 f250, and the guy said it is lifted with lift blocks. (6 inch i believe he said) I know generally speaking that lift blocks arent the way to have a lift.

So my question is (since Im really new to this era of truck) what would reasonably cheap options be to replace those? I dont need that much of a lift either, I would be fine lowering it. I have to factor all this in the price of the truck and whether its worth it to me or not.

For the first while Im sure I would be fine putting around with the truck the way it is, but in the future I would want to get something proper in there.

Old 10-21-2017, 10:09 AM
Jklnhyd
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
A 77 f250 had blocks on the rear from the factory.

Post up some pics if you have em

Old 10-21-2017, 10:11 AM
preppypyro
FTE Legend
I dont have pictures unfortunately.

These are an add on thing for sure though, the guy told me himself they are "well built" lift blocks. And Im assuming this means he installed blocks on both front and rear to achieve the 6 inch lift.

Old 10-21-2017, 10:27 AM
Jklnhyd
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
When a truck is lifted that much, a lot goes into changing the pinion angles, drop pitman arm, both drive shafts would have to be lengthened.

Cheapest way would be to buy leaf springs that matched the current lift.

If he used lift blocks for the front, which is the wrong way to do it, I would assume he did the other steps in the lift poorly also.

Old 10-21-2017, 10:34 AM
preppypyro
FTE Legend
Thanks. I didnt think that with a 6 inch lift, much had to be done besides the drop pitman. But my experience on this era of truck is minimal, especially with lifting them. I know for my obs style truck that had the lift, I didnt have to lengthen the driveshafts or anything like that.