6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Idling time - warnings and risks

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2017, 07:31 AM
steveg_nh
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Idling time - warnings and risks

I'm still pretty new to my diesel. I love it though. Makes towing my enclosed trailer a breeze. I remember the old days though, before Ultra low silver diesel and DEF, when diesels would idle for days! It was like they never shut off.

In reading over the diesel supplement it talks about avoiding excessive and extended idling. But it really doesn't say what constitutes that. I did see that idling more than 10min per hour puts the truck maintenance schedule into extreme vs normal. Seems crazy! I have a 2015 6.7L PSD.

Is it ok to idle for example while waiting 10-15 min for your kids after sports practice? Or while your wife hunts for her cell phone while you wait in the driveway to leave? Or she runs in the store for 10 minutes? It's cold up here and keeping the heat running while waiting is nice.

What's ok though? I read diesels don't really warm up when idling either. So why put a remote start on them? Is running them a bit to get a jump on the heat a bad or useless thing? I was away skiing this week and rain froze on the truck and it was coated in ice. I used the remote starter and let it run 15 min to help clear the ice on the windows.

Am I hurting my engine with this behavior? Maybe I'm taking the idling warnings to an extreme.

Thanks!

Old 03-05-2017, 08:41 AM
Desert Don
Lead Driver
Received 4,619 Likes on 1,643 Posts
If it were me, and thought I needed to idle my endine, I would be looking at installing a fast idle switch, research it on this forum, or maybe someone that already know the steps will chime in.
Good luck!

Old 03-05-2017, 09:22 AM
dirthawg
Posting Guru
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts