Sponsored by:

300 inline 6 mechanic question

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2017, 04:44 PM
Jerad Harrison
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
300 inline 6 mechanic question

OK so I own a 1985 Bronco with 300 inline 6 cylinder. Was driving home from work at highway speed and heard one backfire noise and it died and wont start up again. Pulled it home and started doing some looking around and realized there was no fuel in the filter (had over 1/2 tank). So I pulled the manuel fuel pump off and had someone turn the key and realized the load is not moving and that's about as far as I have went. I am almost certain it's going to be a broken cam or timing gear but my question is without taking her half apart are there some ways to check between the two? I'm no professional mechanic but have enough knowledge to fix most problems but with this I have no prior experience and was just curious if someone could give me some input.
thank you for your time.

Old 01-12-2017, 04:56 PM
SparkyAl
Junior User
Pop off the distributor cap and see if the distributor is turning when you rotate the engine. I believe it's also driven off the camshaft. You could also remove the plugs and put a borescope in (Harbor freight has them on sale for ~$60.00 with a coupon) and watch the valves as you slowly rotate the engine.

Old 01-12-2017, 05:27 PM
AbandonedBronco
Received 79 Likes on 72 Posts
It's more likely that you stripped the drive gear on the distributor. I've had this while driving and it's an instant pop/backfire/death.

As SparkyAl said, pop off the distributor cap.

Then, try to rotate the rotor by hand. You should be able to turn it back and forth maybe a half inch in each direction and then it should snap back straight. If it's gummy and/or can keep turning, the pin that keeps the drive gear in place has sheared.

Pull the distributor slowly so the gear doesn't fall off into the oil pan and either get a new pin or distributor.