Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Chip, injector, hpop questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2016, 06:43 PM
bcaughhorn
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Chip, injector, hpop questions

I have a injector or 3 on the way out. So I'm wanting to upgrade to a slightly bigger set. I'm not racing. But the extra power would be nice. So what would y'all recommend for my old girl?
When I upgrade the injectors I'm thinking of going with the t500 hpop. Or any other recommendations? And why?
Last is my chip. When I upgrade injectors do I send the chip in or the pcm?
And I've been running my f5 for a few years. But I see a lot of people bashing dp online these days.
On a few of the fb pages they push the Hydra. But I was told by one of the guys that sell them that you don't need custom tunes with stock sticks. So that leads me to believe they run a canned tune. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong. I'm no expert by any means

Old 12-11-2016, 07:13 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
You need to decide what you want out of it and then decide. If you go with single shots, you likely won't need the upgraded HPOP as they use less oil.

Single shots have a tendency to have a rougher idle, but tuning also affects that greatly.

As for DP Tuner, folks have been bashing them for years. If you look around enough, you'll find folks bashing just about everyone out there. The Hydra is popular because it's the latest, greatest thing, and several tuners offer support. If you've been happy with DP, then there's really no reason you need to change unless you just feel like trying something new. Jody can get you new tunes for whatever your new set up ends up being. He can even sell you all the parts for your new set up (injectors, HPOP, etc.)

Old 12-11-2016, 07:20 PM
bcaughhorn
Posting Guru
I'm not sure what single shot is. But I do not want a rougher idle.