Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

No starting fluid or ether for hard start

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2016, 09:40 AM
swhitney133
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No starting fluid or ether for hard start

A gas rag is the best. After glow plug module cycles out. Put rag in air cleaner and crack engine. The mist or atomized gas vapors is compressed to ignite at a slow rate. Starting fluid or kill the engine fluid is a small engine application. Not for diesels. Once the engine fires up the rag will restrict air flow so pull fast before it stalls out. Once the rag is out the fuel system will be primed and good to go. Bleed air intrusion at Schrader valve by filter. Only do this if glow plug module took a ****ter or major air intrusion via fuel leaks. I have been doing this for 20 years. Tested compression on my last idi at 380,000 tested 425 psi all around not bad.

Old 10-28-2016, 05:00 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,110 Likes on 2,170 Posts
i use WD-40 when help is needed.
not a flammable as gas, or as explosive as ether.

Old 10-28-2016, 08:51 PM
hairyboxnoogle
Lead Driver
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Also want to point out how retarded this myth is.... ether injector on my pickup for over 3-4 years now and 30+ thousand miles and it still hasnt blown up. Also, ive tried the gas rag and wd40 both because i was out of ether, and neither got my pickup started. Luckily, our diesel tractor about a 1/4 mile away in the field had some in its factory ether injector that i could steal.

Old 10-28-2016, 09:52 PM
Macrobb
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Yeah... the only time you have issues with ether is when you have glow plugs hot. Otherwise, it'll just burn and will get it started.