1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

I found why my monkey face got drunk.

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2016, 09:06 PM
underthebridgejim
FTE fan
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
I found why my monkey face got drunk.

Heah all, I guess you can tell my wife is out of town and bored to death, lol. You may remember My mentioning that my truck was all over the road when Dan, Roy, and I met for lunch on the 6th. I vaguely hitting my tie rod with a floor jack and have ordered a new one already. Waiting for a back ordered tie rod is boring so today I checked the toe in wich depending who you talk to is best at 1/16" to 1/8". I like mine at 1/4". Any way I checked mine today using a quick and dirty process and found mine to be at almost 1 1/2" Toe Out. Every one knows I'm no ace mechanic but even I know there is no way this truck is going to drive in anything close to straight line. Well you can guess what Im going to be posting about until I get my new HEAVY DUTY t/r & ends, yeah checking all the front end components. I know, I know , you guys will probably be sick of me by the time my wife gets home, next month. So put your seat belts on and try and be patient with me, while I play with my truck.

Attached Images     
Old 08-13-2016, 09:29 PM
49f3dls
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I love the jury rigged toe check setup. Good job Jim.

Old 08-13-2016, 11:13 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
The toe-in is measured off the wheels, not the tires, so I would guess your actual toe-out is about half that (still very bad). Did your jack end up under the tie-rod?

I bought some 16" wheels from a guy on here who had a '56 he bought from a gal in TX. She had a flat and jacked the truck up with the tie-rod. To say the front tires were worn out was an understatement.

Old 08-13-2016, 11:51 PM
underthebridgejim
FTE fan
Originally Posted by ALBUQ F-1