Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

2017 Escape

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2016, 07:24 AM
YoGeorge
Logistics Pro
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by 1saxman
As a KIA Sportage driver, I am now in the market for the '17 Sportage SX (2.0L T, 240 HP). If for some reason that does not get done, the '17 Escape Titanium (2.0L T, 240 HP) is my next option. It could become my first option based on the results of test drives which are going to happen in the next few weeks. The '17 Escape has many new features, like an advanced rear suspension for better handling and a quieter ride. Of course, the '17 KIA Sportage is a new vehicle (4G series) and also has many new features. I care more about styling, handling and power than I do things like rear seat room or fuel economy (only have 40,000 mi. on my 2011). I use the vehicle for transporting me and my equipment to gigs and as just 'my car'. I also have a truck and my wife has a minivan, so we have the 'utility' thing covered. I'm a sporty driver and handling is critical. The Sportage is all alone in that category compared to all other crossovers but I would have to drive the Escape to see if 'improved handling' is really meaningful. The main thing about the Escape is 3 or 4 MPG better than the Sportage. That's not a big factor for me as I said but you can't ignore it either - gas is cheap now but it could get high again overnight the next time some sheep herder decides to blow something up.