1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Front brake woes

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2016, 12:22 AM
70FE250
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front brake woes

Been having a issue of the truck pulling to the left when braking. Went and bought new hoses but I can't seem to get the damn hose off where it converts from a hard line to hose. Truck is 2wd. How do I take that off and what tool? Also, I can't seem to get the drums off either. I'm really new with braked and drums so bear with me

Old 03-25-2016, 07:25 AM
Salty Dog
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You need two flare nut wrenches. A 3/8 on the top fitting and a bigger one (not sure of the size) on the top of the brake hose where the lines connect. After you get them apart you can use a small hammer and screwdriver to knock out the clips.

Old 03-25-2016, 11:08 AM
MIKES 68 F100
Logistics Pro
Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts
be sure to use some kind of WD40 /Kroil/ etc those lines are almost always stuck and strip out .

Old 03-25-2016, 11:35 AM
GLR
FTE Legend
Received 954 Likes on 864 Posts
For the drums, The dust cap has to be removed to access the cotter pin to be removed. Then, the slide on "keeper nut" (this can go back on many different ways to line up the serrations for the cotter pin) . Then the nut and washer can be removed to get to the outer bearing which usually just falls out. Pull on the drum and it will come off. If stuck , you might have to back off the brake adjusting screw. ..Accessed through the elongated hole in the backing plate. Might or might not have a rubber plug in the hole.

Old 03-25-2016, 12:00 PM
ultraranger
Lead Driver
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Originally Posted by MIKES 68 F100
be sure to use some kind of WD40 /Kroil/ etc those lines are almost always stuck and strip out .
It's not a good practice to use WD-40 or any other petroleum-based penetrants/oils on brake system components.